Driving under the influence, commonly abbreviated as DUI, is notoriously dangerous. When drivers operate their vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, everyone else on the road suffers the consequence of their reckless decision. In the event of a serious DUI accident, victims may be left with severe injuries or property damage. To recover compensation for their injuries, victims of a New Hampshire DUI accident may wish to bring a negligence lawsuit against the intoxicated driver.
For example, two people suffered serious injuries after a DUI accident in Westmoreland, New Hampshire. The accident occurred when an intoxicated driver crossed the yellow dividing line and struck a Prius traveling in the opposite direction. The driver and passenger of the Prius were transported to the hospital after suffering serious injuries. Police arrested the driver and charged him with aggravated driving under the influence.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in New Hampshire?
Intoxicated drivers who cause a serious accident may face criminal charges and a civil lawsuit for damages. If an intoxicated driver’s behavior results in serious bodily harm, they can face both hefty fines and prison time. At minimum, a driver convicted of aggravated driving under the influence must pay $750 in fines and spend 17 days in prison, but a judge can impose a tougher sentence. In addition to criminal penalties, an intoxicated driver may face a civil damages lawsuit from an injured victim. In addition to physical injuries, victims of a serious accident may have suffered emotional harm, along with significant expenses. A civil negligence lawsuit allows victims to recover damages regardless of the outcome of a criminal case.