Driving Under the Influence (DUI), also known as Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), can lead to serious bodily injury or even death. These senseless accidents are especially tragic because they are often preventable. If a driver simply refrained from operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, the accident may have never occurred. Due to the reckless nature of these accidents, intoxicated drivers who cause bodily harm often face both criminal and civil responsibility for their actions.
Recently, a news article reported that an intoxicated driver is facing criminal charges after an accident in Unity, New Hampshire. After receiving a call about a car accident, state troopers arrived at the scene and found that a vehicle had crashed into a tree. The driver had fled. A police investigation revealed that immediately before the crash, the driver had passed another vehicle on a double yellow line, causing the vehicle to crash. Later, police found the driver, who refused to cooperate with the investigation, and determined he was under the influence. He now faces charges of driving while intoxicated, conduct after an accident, reckless operation of his vehicle, and disobeying an officer.
What are the Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, a person who drives under the influence and causes an accident resulting in serious bodily harm is guilty of an aggravated DWI. If convicted, the person will face a minimum of $750 in fines and a mandatory minimum sentence of 17 days in a county prison. Upon release from prison, the person must undergo a substance use disorder evaluation and comply with the resulting service plan to treat the person’s substance abuse. The fact that drivers may face criminal fines for a DWI does not preclude injured victims from suing drivers for the harm they suffered. In addition to criminal charges, an injured plaintiff can bring a negligence lawsuit against the driver in civil court.