New Hampshire is one of the only states that maintain optional auto insurance laws for motorists in the state. Under the law, drivers, excluding those convicted for specific driving offenses, can choose whether or not to purchase coverage. However, New Hampshire’s Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility laws require drivers to demonstrate that they have sufficient funds if they are “at fault” for an accident. Those who are unable to meet this requirement risk license suspension and other repercussions. Notwithstanding the optional coverage, all motorists should consider the implications of driving without insurance in New Hampshire.
Generally, there are three primary ways to collect damages after suffering injuries in a New Hampshire accident. The first way involves filing a claim with the injury victim’s insurance company; this method is possible if the policy covers the victim’s loss. Many times the insurance company will pursue a subrogation claim against the negligent driver’s insurance carrier. Next, the claimant may file a third-party claim against the negligent driver’s insurance carrier. Finally, the victim may file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault motorist or other entity that may be responsible for the accident.
Despite the optional laws, purchasing auto insurance is an attractive option for many motorists. Those who purchase auto insurance must have coverage that meets the statutory minimums. The minimums include at least:
- $25,000 coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in a collision caused by the insured vehicle’s driver or owner.
- $50,000 coverage for total bodily injury or death in a collision caused by the insured vehicle’s driver or owner.
- $25,000 coverage for property damage per accident caused by the insured vehicle’s driver or owner.
Further, those who choose to purchase liability insurance must also acquire medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage equal to the policyholder’s liability coverage.
This coverage typically covers the injury victim’s medical expenses, property damage, and other similar costs. However, it is essential to note that this coverage protects others, and motorists should consider obtaining additional coverage to protect themselves. New Hampshire’s unusual auto insurance laws leave many injury victims financially overwhelmed. Those who have suffered injuries in a New Hampshire car accident should contact an experienced attorney to help them understand their rights and remedies.
Have You Been Injured in a New Hampshire Accident?
If you or someone you love was recently involved in a New Hampshire car accident caused by a negligent driver, contact the personal injury attorneys at Peter Thompson & Associates. The lawyers on our team have a comprehensive understanding of the relevant injury laws that impact our clients and the community as a whole. We provide clients with personalized and strategic representation to ensure that they recover the damages the law entitles them to. Our law firm handles injury cases stemming from New Hampshire auto accidents, including car, truck, boat, bus, and pedestrian accidents, dangerous property conditions, defective or unsafe products, medical malpractice, and wrongful death. Contact one of the experienced attorneys on our legal team at 800-804-2004 to discuss your right to recovery after a New Hampshire accident.