In the quick second that it takes to have a car accident, car collisions can be scary, and navigating the aftermath of a car accident can be just as daunting. From laws that deal with the deadline for filing a claim, to laws that govern the amount of recovery you may be able to receive from a claim, there are factors that accident victims should consider when navigating lawsuits. Each state has different laws governing various aspects of a lawsuit, and depending on the specifics of a car accident, an accident victim may have a variety of considerations to make.
A recent news report revealed that two people were seriously injured in a car crash on South Stark Highway by Martin Road in New Hampshire. The drivers of both vehicles suffered serious injuries and were transported to a local hospital, and according to initial investigations, it appears as though a car going southbound crossed the center line into oncoming traffic and caused the crash.
Negligence Claims After a Car Accident in New Hampshire
Every state has different laws that you must consider when considering filing a lawsuit after a car accident. One important aspect to consider is the statute of limitations, which is the filing deadline that requires persons to bring their claims to court by a certain date. In the state of New Hampshire, the statute of limitations for most car accident lawsuits is three years. Many people file lawsuits after car accidents to receive financial recovery for injuries, medical bills, and property damage, and in the legal world this financial recovery is referred to as “damages”. When filing a lawsuit after a car accident involving negligence, you’ll want to consider the negligence laws that govern in the state where you are bringing the suit. In New Hampshire, the state follows a modified comparative fault doctrine, which means that in order for the plaintiff to be able to receive damages for the car accident, the plaintiff must not be 51 percent or more at fault. In addition, the plaintiff’s amount of damages will be decreased based on the plaintiff’s level of fault if they are not barred from recovering damages due to being 51 percent or more at fault. These laws can be tricky to navigate, which is why it can be helpful to talk to an experienced lawyer about your case.
Have You Been Seriously Injured in an Auto Accident in New Hampshire?
If you or someone you love has been seriously injured or died due to a car accident in New Hampshire, connect with the dedicated personal injury lawyers at Peter, Thompson & Associates. Our attorneys have years of experience litigating some of the most complex personal injury cases, including litigation involving car accidents. We are ready to help you recover the damages you deserve so you can move forward. We understand that navigating complex laws and claims can be distressing, and thus approach our work with both compassion and dedication. Contact us today for a no-obligation, free initial consultation by calling us at 1-800-804-2004.